Information on Inexpensive Outings with the Kids

Posted on November 29, 2007. Filed under: Frugal Living, Things to Do, Westchester |

Everyone knows raising kids is expensive. Reports have estimated that it costs over $250,000 for a middle income family to raise a child. Not surprisingly, as a mother of three, I am always looking for ways to save money. While I can’t control housing, clothing and medical bills, I do have a lot of flexibility with entertainment costs. As a result, I am trying to compile a list of 100 things to do with kids that cost less than $25.

I live in Westchester, near New York City and have learned that, with a bit of planning and looking around, it is possible to entertain (and even educate) your kids without spending a lot of money.

One great resource for me is www.kidsevents.com. They list all sorts of inexpensive child-friendly events in Westchester and Fairfield counties. You can also subscribe to their e-newsletter, which goes out on Thursday, and has a searchable calendar for planning weekend events. Since I just received this week’s copy, I’ve started making plans for the weekend so I won’t find myself waking up on Saturday thinking “”what are we going to do today?”

Just trying to keep it simple.

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

