Treadmill Running

Posted on December 4, 2007. Filed under: Running, Take Care of Yourself |

treadmill-run.jpg

Photo by maHidoodi

The cold weather has arrived, which means I am headed indoors for my runs—on the dreaded treadmill. How boring!!

I really dislike the cold, but I can stand running outside until the temperature drops to 32 degrees. However, a couple of days ago, it went as low as 17 degrees. NO WAY am I going outside to run in that!

As I drive to the gym, I try to remind myself of the advantages of running on the treadmill:

  • I avoid running in bad weather.
  • I don’t have to wear layers of clothing.
  • I can keep a steady pace throughout my entire run-this really helps with tempo runs.
  • I can avoid injuries because the treadmill surface is much more forgiving than the road.
  • I don’t have to worry about barking dogs, or stepping over road-kill, or teenage drivers bothering me at the gym.

Here are the ways I keep focused and pass the time while I am running:

  • I listen to my iPod and run for eight songs (if I average five minutes per song, then that is a 40 minute run).
  • I break my time up into smaller three minute segments after my warm up, then I make small changes to the speed and incline every three minutes to make it harder or easier, depending on how I feel.
  • I count the number of breathes I take in a minute, then calculate how many breathes I will take in five minutes. Then I count those breathes to see if I can predict when five minutes have passed.
  • I look out of the window and wish I was outside.
  • I think about my day ahead, or think about a problem I am trying to figure out.
  • I daydream.

Treadmill running. It’s not as interesting as going outside, but it’s definitely better than running in the cold.

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

