Pictures with Santa

Posted on December 17, 2007. Filed under: Frugal Living, Things to Do, Westchester |

mall.jpg

Mall Decorations. Photo by WalkingGeek

It’s Christmas time, and I wanted to get a picture of my youngest daughter with Santa Claus (my teenagers informed me they were too old—Scrooges!). I was able to avoid the mall during this Christmas buying season, up until our Santa visit. As someone who is trying to reduce consumption and wipe out materialism in my family, the mall and teenage kids do not add up to a good time. However, despite the challenges of having teenagers with me, we were able to spend most of the day getting Santa pictures, and did a lot of window shopping. A useful tactic for me to keep the peace has been to give my daughters a budget when we go out. I find this works best because;

  • they feel in control of their money,
  • I don’t have to weigh in on every little purchase (like the mall pretzels),
  • I know exactly how much they are going to spend because we set a budget, and
  • when Mommy is not paying for everything, they become REALLY frugal and spend their money very wisely.

So the bottom line is we made it to the mall for Santa pictures, but were able to avoid a lot of the shopping frenzy and took in some of the holiday magic from the store and window displays.

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

