Giving Me a Break

Posted on December 18, 2007. Filed under: Running, Take Care of Yourself |

Photo by Bob Jagendorf

30-rock.jpg

I haven’t gone running in nearly a week. There has been nothing worse for my diet and exercise routine than the holiday season. Parties and treats entice me to over eat, while errands, extra activities and late nights make me tired and not willing to get out of bed in the morning to exercise.

I approach every Monday as the beginning of a new week and recommit myself to my fitness routine. I weigh myself and make plans for exercise and diet for the upcoming week. Lately, I’ve been happy when I weighed in and simply did not gain weight. I have no expectation that I would lose weight, given all the Christmas cookies I’ve been eating.

I was beginning to beat myself up for not sticking to my weight loss plans. However, I needed to walk 1 1/2 miles on the way home from work today (Christmas shopping) and really enjoyed it! This reminded me that when it is hard to wake up early to go run, I can always walk from the train to my office, which is 1 1/2 miles. If I walk in both directions, then I’ll get in three miles in total. While it is not as challenging as running three miles in the morning, it does give me some exercise so I don’t stray too much from my routine. I also get to stroll through the streets of New York City during the holiday season along with the tourists.

So I decided to get in lots of walking in the next few days, and to give myself a break from running, as well as a break from chastising myself. I have a lot to finish both at home and at work before Christmas and need to take some things off my “to do” list. It will be running for the next few days. Then during the Christmas break, I can get rested and can get back to my running routine (diet may have to wait until after the New Year).

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

