Lead Free Toys

Posted on December 21, 2007. Filed under: Family Life | Tags: , , , , |

tigger.jpg

Photo by rednuht

I recently said to my husband “it seems like all the toy recalls we’ve been hearing about have stopped”. Then out comes a report from the Ecology Center which shows that only 20% of the toys they tested were lead free– only 20 percent! It’s Christmas time and my parents and sisters are asking what gifts to get for our kids. While my kids can say what they want to get, I have something to say about what they cannot get:

  • no guns or weapons
  • no Bratz dolls
  • no Barbie dolls
  • no TV products (meaning toys that promote TV shows or charaters-although I make exceptions for Dora The Explorer)
  • no video games or game consoles.

Now I have to add “no toys with lead” to the list.

Thanks to the Ecology Center, I can tell my family thay can go to healthytoys.org to get a list of the lead levels in common toys. As an extra bonus, the report also includes levels of cadmium and arsenic found in toys……how great!

Happy Holiday shopping!

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

