Christmas Day Workout

Posted on December 25, 2007. Filed under: Running, Take Care of Yourself |

Christmas Shoes

Photo by orangeacid

Now that Christmas day is over, I am facing an entire week without having to go to work. As a result, I have the time to focus on myself and am planning to get back into the groove of working out and running.

Last week, I talked about not running during this time of year because I was too busy, and decided to take some time off. After ten days of not running, I had a chance to run this past weekend and it was GREAT. I felt rested and better able to face my run—both mentally and physically. It was a treadmill run, which I usually find boring and hard to finish. However, since I was coming back from a break, I was able to do a 45 minute run without a problem. I’ve read from sources like runnersworld.com that it’s good to take a break from running if things are getting stale. I think they are right and I’m glad I gave myself some time away. A couple of weeks ago, a friend asked me if I was interested in running the More Half Marathon in April. Now that I’ve taken a break, I may be up to it and will blog about my progress if I decide to enter and train.

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

