New Year’s Eve

Posted on December 31, 2007. Filed under: Things to Do, Westchester | Tags: , , , , , , , |

Photo by ms. teaprosecco.jpg
Today is the last day of the year, and I remain committed to making things easy and simple in the upcoming year.

Since it is New Year’s Eve, the Westchester town of New Rochelle is hosting a First Night celebration with lots of activities and things to do with kids. I was thinking about going to the children’s library for their “crazy hat making” event with my four year old, but stayed close to home and had one of her friends come over for a play date instead. After dress up and pretend cooking, they ended up having tea in the kitchen while the other mother and I killed the “supernatural brownies” I made yesterday from a recipe I read in the NY Times. After they left, I cooked up a pot of black eyed peas for hoppin’ john, which we ate for dinner. My husband wants to make sure we have enough left over to eat tomorrow on New Year’s Day for good luck this year.

Now that the night has settled in, I am relaxing on the couch watching the Twilight Zone marathon (another New Year’s tradition in my home). My teenagers are gone—both were invited to parties with their friends. As a result, the house is really quiet. My husband and I are sharing a bottle of Prosecco, while my four year old is thrilled to be allowed to stay up late and play with her crayons.

So no night out, no running around, and no drama. It would be nice to have more nights like this in the upcoming year. Now I am going to watch one of my favorite TZ episodes, Time Enough at Last.

Happy New Year.

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

