Stepping Stones Museum

Posted on March 24, 2008. Filed under: Things to Do, Westchester |

Today is about Things to Do

We are now in the last days of winter, and soon it will be warm enough to spend lots of time outside. Until those warm days come, I am still working to find things to do with my kids on the weekends. I recently was introduced to The Steppingstones Museum for Children Norwalk, CT, and consider this a great find and a wonderful way to kill an afternoon with young children. I regret that I have been here for a couple of years, and am just now discovering this little treasure.

Steppingstones is completely hands on and has spaces where kids can play with water, roll balls through mini roller coasters, pretend to be in the rain forest, learn about the human body, and build model cars for racing. Whenever I mention this place, my four year old starts to hound me until I take her there. I think her favorite part is the water exhibit. You walk into this large room, and a helper puts an apron on your child (they immediately won points with me for that detail). Then the kids can run around to different pools where they play with floating balls, boats, a huge funnel, water channels, and all sorts of hands on water play.

Embedded in all of this activity are attempts to teach something to the kids. However, I find that unless they can read, a child will only be interested in the hands on play, and not so interested in the structured lessons they try to provide. In my book, play is work for kids, and it is how they learn so I find this to be a minor limitation.

Despite its location in CT, it is only a 40 minute drive from Westchester–just take route 95 to Exit 14–and is an easy hop from most places in Westchester. In fact, when we went there a couple of weeks ago, we ran into three other families from our town.

So if you you are looking for something to do with a toddler or preschooler, I strongly recommend Steppingstones as a great way to spend an afternoon.

Anne

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • About

    Musings on how a disorganized woman with a full time job, three kids and a real need to relax is trying to make life simple.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

